The U.S. has now become more marijuana-friendly than several years ago, but there are still some states where people can be severely punished for cannabis use. Keep in mind that you should be very cautious if you are planning to visit one of the following states and want to avoid prosecution.
Though the state has already legalized the medical use of marijuana, registered patients are very limited in their choice. Thus, even if you get a medical cannabis card in Florida, you are not allowed to smoke dried flowers and purchase anything high in THC. Moreover, you can be punished with a sentence of up to five years and a five thousand dollar fine if you possess marijuana in the amount between 20 ounces and 25 pounds.
Idaho is one of the rare American states that totally rejects any possession and use of marijuana. There is no legislation in the state that allows consuming cannabis for any purposes. Though the state approved a law permitting the use of CBD oil, the local governor put this legislation under a ban. Thus, it is better to restrain from marijuana use if you are going to visit Idaho. Otherwise, you will have to pay a fine from $1,000 to $10,000 and may be imprisoned for up to five years.
Louisiana had the most severe marijuana regulations in the U.S. several years ago. Currently, the law states the following: if a person is caught using cannabis the first time, they are excused; however, if you get caught again, you will be charged with a felony and receive a five-year sentence. Marijuana growers and sellers are also strictly prosecuted in the state. You may have to pay a fifty thousand dollar fine and get a sentence of five to thirty years.
Though medical marijuana has been legal in Arizona since 2012, the state rejected the initiative to allow the recreational use of pot last year. Only the state residents with a medical marijuana card can fearlessly purchase and possess weed in the state. However, there are severe restrictions regarding marijuana use in public places. If you are not a medical cannabis user, you can be prosecuted for the possession of less than two pounds of the herb. The punishment includes a thousand dollar fine and a sentence that can vary from four months to four years.
Oklahoma is going to legalize medical marijuana use next year, but until that time, the state legislation is very severe to all cannabis consumers. Keep in mind that you are at risk of getting a life sentence for cannabis distribution and sale. If you a pot user, you will be prosecuted for possessing any amount of marijuana. The punishment is a one-year sentence, and a mandatory thousand dollar fine.
If you are going to travel to South Dakota, remember that any use of marijuana is prohibited in this state. There was an initiative to legalize the medical use of cannabis last year, but it was not even put on the ballot. Currently, you will be put in jail for a year and have to pay a two thousand dollar fine for the possession of less than two ounces of marijuana. If you have more than two ounces of the herb, the local legislation can punish you with a one-year sentence and a four thousand dollar fine.
The state legally allows residents to use CBD oil, yet marijuana consumers in Texas are severely prosecuted. None of the initiatives to legalize marijuana were passed in the state. Thus, if you get caught with less than two ounces of illegal cannabis, you will be punished with a two thousand dollar fine and half a year in jail. The punishment will be more severe if you possess up to five pounds of the substance. The maximum mandatory fine for this felony is $10,000. In addition, you will receive a sentence of up to two years. If you risk possessing more than five pounds of cannabis, be aware that you will be punished with imprisonment that can last from five up to 99 years!