After the legalization of recreational marijuana that had taken place last November, Nevada finally launched the sales of weed products for recreational purposes on July 1. The state expects to attract many tourists and build the largest cannabis market in the country. However, there are still strict limitations that every pot user should be aware of when visiting Nevada.
The recreational marijuana legislation in Nevada allows adults aged 21 and over to purchase weed. So, if your ID can confirm that you are a person of full age, you can now legally purchase up to an ounce of dried flowers or one-eighth of an ounce of weed concentrates or edibles. Though recreational weed is sold in the same places as the medical kind, dispensaries offer recreational products at higher prices because of additional taxes.
Unlike smoking tobacco or drinking beer, you are not allowed to consume marijuana publicly. Weed users are permitted to light up pot only in their private properties, including porches and yards. If you smoke a joint in public, national, or federally subsidized places, you may be punished with a $600 fine for a first offense.
The ban also includes bars, concerts, restaurants, and even casinos. State gambling regulations have to comply with the federal law that considers marijuana an illegal drug. So, if you are a tourist in Nevada, it will be hard for you to find a place for cannabis consumption. However, you can always opt for weed edibles, which you can eat anywhere without attracting attention.
You can store cannabis in your car and drive with it, but smoking weed during driving or driving stoned is against the state law. Even if you smoke weed on the passenger seat, you may be fined with up to $1,000 for marijuana consumption.
The Nevada police have arranged additional training for their officers to educate them on determining an impaired person. Police are also ready to prosecute those who light up under the neon lights. You can also file a complaint about public consumption of weed by calling 311 in case of imminent danger.
The state is warning recreational pot consumers that nowadays marijuana is more powerful than a couple of decades ago. If you want to start using weed, be very careful with your dose in order to avoid negative consequences. Be aware that the effects of weed-infused edibles are delayed for two hours, so it is better to start with a low dose.
The state does not allow cannabis companies to mark their edibles with anything that might be appealing to children. Thus, in Nevada, you will not find edibles in the form of lollipops or gummy bears. Moreover, weed producers have to label their products with the potency level and a warning about the possible two-hour delay in the effects. Nevada laws also prohibit the advertisement of pot products on social media where more than 30 percent of the audience is under 21 years old.