In Arkansas, cannabis is illegal.
Possession of up to 4 oz of marijuana is a misdemeanor punishable by a $2,500 fine and 1 year in jail. Possession of larger amounts of the substance is punished with harsher penalties.
Possession with intent to distribute entails more severe penalties: a person who was caught for possessing less than 14 grams of cannabis with the intent to deliver the drug to another person may be fined $2,500 and spend up to 1 year in prison. Possession of larger quantities of cannabis is a felony punishable by a sentence of maximum 30 years in prison and a $15,000 fine. Furthermore, a second or subsequent conviction results in a doubled penalty.
Delivering up to 14 grams of marijuana to another person is a misdemeanor punishable by a $2,500 fine and a maximum of 1 year in jail.
Sale and cultivation of marijuana are illegal and viewed as either simple possession or as possession with intent to deliver.
Currently, Arkansas has no medical marijuana program.