Marijuana is legal for medical use only in Connecticut.
The maximum allowable monthly amount for registered patients is 2.5 ounces unless their physicians indicate a smaller amount is appropriate. For non-patients, possession of up to 0.5 ounce of cannabis is a civil penalty that will cost you $150 for first offense and $200-$500 for second or subsequent offense. For possessing up to 4 oz of the drug, a person may be punished by a prison term of 5 years and a maximum $3,000 fine. Possession of larger amounts of marijuana is a felony punishable by a $5,000 fine and up to 10 years in jail.
Neither patients nor caregivers are authorized to cultivate marijuana in Connecticut. Only licensed producers may grow their own weed.
Selling cannabis is also illegal and entails a fine of up to $100,000 and a maximum 25 years of imprisonment.