WeedLex

Delaware Marijuana Laws

Delaware Marijuana Laws

Marijuana here is legal for medical use only.

Possession of up to 1 oz of marijuana for personal use is a civil penalty punishable by a $100 fine with no criminal record. However, the use of the drug by minors, publicly, or in a moving vehicle remains a criminal offense. Possession of up to 175 grams is a misdemeanor, entailing a maximum $575 fine and up to three months in jail. A person caught with more than 175 grams but less than 1.5 kilograms of cannabis will have to spend up to three years in prison. Possession of larger amounts of the substance is punished with harsher penalties.

Distribution, manufacture, and sale are also illegal. The largest prison term of 25 years is for distributing, selling, or growing of more than 4 kilograms of marijuana.

Delaware Medical Marijuana Laws

Patients 18 years or older with certain medical conditions are allowed to possess up to 6 oz of cannabis.

Neither home cultivation nor public consumption is allowed.

Pot initiatives: Predicting the next 15 states to legalize marijuana
‚ÄčIn the states where it has been legalized, the new industry is contributing to the various states' economies. Marijuana Business Daily puts the number of jobs created by cannabis-related companies at between 100,000 and 150,000. New Frontier Data estimated employment within the industry may reach 300,000 by 2020.
Nov 15, 2017 1:46 PM
USA Today
Delaware Students Can Now Consume Medical Cannabis at School
The Governor of Delaware has recently signed an order into law that allows students to have access to their cannabis-based medication on school grounds. Although the law is not perfect, it is still a significant advance for those who need cannabis treatment.
Oct 11, 2016 9:05 AM