WeedLex

Hawaii Marijuana Laws

Hawaii Marijuana Laws

Marijuana is allowed for medicinal purposes only in Hawaii.

Possession of up to 1 ounce of marijuana for recreational use is a crime punishable by 30 days of imprisonment and a fine of $1,000. A person who has up to 1 pound may be charged with 1 year in jail and a maximum fine of $2,000.

Possession with intent to distribute is punishable by harsher penalties.

Selling no more than 1 ounce of marijuana is a misdemeanor and entails 1-year imprisonment and a $2,000 fine. Selling of larger amounts of marijuana is punished with harsher penalties.

Distributing no more than 1 pound is punishable by a $10,000 fine and 5 years in jail. Distribution of any amount of the drug within 750 feet of a school zone or a park is the reason to fine the person $10,000 and imprison them for 5 years.

Cultivating marijuana plants is a crime in Hawaii. A person who grows 25-50 plants may pay a $10,000 fine and spend up to five years in jail. Growing up to 24 plants on government land or someone's residence is a felony punishable by 10 years in prison.

Hawaii Medical Marijuana Laws

A patient may legally possess up to 4 oz of usable marijuana every 15 days or 8 oz every 30 days. The term of “usable marijuana” does not include seeds, stalks, and roots of the cannabis plant.

It is also allowed to cultivate no more than 7 plants at home.

Public consumption is prohibited.

Hawaii Senator Believes ‘Cannabis’ Is Much Better Term for ‘Marijuana’
State authorities are taking a deeper look at the usage and etymology of the word “marijuana.” The word “cannabis” is now considered to be a more appropriate term for using in the industry than its synonym “marijuana.” That is the main reason why Hawaii Senator decided to remove the word “marijuana” from the state’s vocabulary.
Mar 20, 2017 12:40 PM