WeedLex

​Iowa Marijuana Laws

Iowa Marijuana Laws

Marijuana is an illegal substance for all purposes in Iowa.

Possession of even a small amount of cannabis is a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of $1,000 and up to 6 months of imprisonment. Second offense may be punished by a fine ranging between $315 and $1875 and/or a prison term of up to one year. Breaking the law for the third time would be considered an aggravated misdemeanor punishable by a prison term of up to two years and/or a fine of no less than $625 and no more than $6250.

If an offender is considered to be a “chronic abuser” of marijuana, they may be sent to a rehabilitation facility.

A violation within 1,000 feet of school property, public park, or recreational center may lead to 100 hours of community service in addition to the standard punishment.

It is illegal to manufacture or distribute marijuana. Delivery or possession with intent to deliver one-half ounce or less of plant-form marijuana without remuneration is equivalent to simple possession in Iowa. A person who grows or sells up to 50 kilograms may be charged with a felony, which entails a prison term of 5 years and a fine of between $750 and $7,500. Manufacturing of 50-100 kilograms of marijuana is a felony punishable by up to 10 years in jail and a $50,000 fine.

10 Signs That Federal Medical Cannabis Prohibition Is to Be Lifted
As the support for medical marijuana is steadily growing among Americans, an increasing number of states are approving and developing their medical cannabis policies in favor of saving people's lives. The changes are so drastic that the latest actions carried out by medical marijuana defenders and legislators may lead to the end of federal medical cannabis prohibition.
Jul 20, 2016 9:10 AM