In Kansas, cannabis is illegal both for personal and medical use. All attempts to legalize medical marijuana in Kansas were unsuccessful (as of July 2016).
A person who possesses any amount of the substance may be imprisoned for up to 6 months and fined $1,000.
Selling up to 25 grams of cannabis is a level 4 felony punishable by a sentence up to 51 months in prison and a maximum fine of $300,000. Distribution of larger amounts of cannabis is punishable by harsher penalties. Furthermore, sale of cannabis within 1,000 feet of a school zone increases the severity of the punishment.
Growing 4-50 plants entails a fine of up to $300,000 and incarceration for no more than 83 months.