Kentucky Marijuana Laws

Kentucky Marijuana Laws

Cannabis use is prohibited in Kentucky.

A person who possesses up to 8 oz of the substance may be imprisoned for up to 45 days and pay a fine of up to $250. Possession of a larger amount of cannabis is considered to be evidence to the fact that the person possesses marijuana with intent to sell or transfer it.

The sale or trafficking of no more than 8 oz is punishable by a sentence of up to 1 year and a maximum fine of $500. The selling or trafficking of the amount between 8 oz and 5 pounds of marijuana is a felony that entails a maximum punishment of a 5-year imprisonment and a fine of $10,000. The second or subsequent offense increases penalties. Sale within 1,000 feet of a school zone is a felony that means imprisonment for 1-5 years and a $1,000-$10,000 fine.

Cultivation of up to 5 plants is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum 12-month sentence and a $500 fine. A person who cultivates more than 5 plants commits a felony and may pay a $10,000 fine and spend up to 10 years in prison.

Kentucky Lawmakers Review Medical Marijuana Bill
Supporters of legalizing medical marijuana in Kentucky made their case to a legislative panel Monday, touting it as a safe alternative to highly addictive opioid painkillers.
Mar 7, 2018 12:00 PM