WeedLex

Michigan Marijuana Laws

Michigan Marijuana Laws

Although Michigan legalized medical cannabis, recreational use of the substance remains illegal here.

Possession of any amount of marijuana is a crime that entails a $2,000 fine and a maximum sentence of 1 year in prison. Use of cannabis entails a 90-day imprisonment and a $100 fine. Furthermore, possession in or within 1,000 feet of a park or school is punishable by a fine of up to $2,000 and 2 years of imprisonment.

Sale of up to 5 kilograms of cannabis is a felony. A person that violates the law may be fined $20,000 and imprisoned for up to 4 years. Selling of 5-45 kilograms is punishable by a 7-year imprisonment and a $500,000 fine.

A person who grows no more than 20 plants may receive a maximum fine of $20,000 and be imprisoned for up to 4 years. Cultivation of larger amounts of the plants is punishable by harsher penalties.

Michigan Medical Marijuana Laws

Patients may legally possess 2.5 oz of usable marijuana and cultivate up to 12 plants kept in an enclosed, locked facility. Primary caregivers may possess these amounts for each patient and be reimbursed for their cost without violating the marijuana cultivation and distribution laws.

Neither patients nor caregivers are allowed to sell marijuana for non-medical purposes. Doing so, they may be fined $2,000 and imprisoned for up to 2 years.

Public consumption is prohibited.

Pot initiatives: Predicting the next 15 states to legalize marijuana
‚ÄčIn the states where it has been legalized, the new industry is contributing to the various states' economies. Marijuana Business Daily puts the number of jobs created by cannabis-related companies at between 100,000 and 150,000. New Frontier Data estimated employment within the industry may reach 300,000 by 2020.
Nov 15, 2017 1:46 PM
USA Today
Recreational Marijuana Initiative Likely to Be on November Ballot in Michigan
Michigan will probably become the first state in the central part of the U.S. to eliminate the prohibition.
May 19, 2016 9:19 AM