Hew Hampshire legalized marijuana only for patients with certain debilitating medical conditions.
Non-patients may not possess marijuana. Possession of any amount is a misdemeanor that entails a maximum sentence of 1-year imprisonment and a fine of up to $2,000.
Sale, manufacturing, and possession with intent to sell of no more than 1 oz are punishable by up to 3 years of imprisonment and a $25,000 fine. Selling up to 5 pounds carries a seven-year sentence and a fine of $100,000, or both. For distributing a larger amount of cannabis, a person may face harsher penalties.
Cultivation of cannabis is also illegal in New Hampshire. Penalties are based upon the aggregate weight of the plants found and on whether the offense was a first or subsequent violation.
If an offense occurs within 1,000 feet of a school zone, the penalties double.
The state’s medical marijuana program legalized cannabis use for persons 18 years and older treating thirteen medical conditions. Qualifying patients are allowed to possess up to 2 oz of cannabis. Patients possessing cannabis with no ID card may face a $100 fine.
Personal cultivation of cannabis is prohibited.
People are also forbidden from smoking marijuana in public places, on school grounds, or in correctional and recreational facilities.
Non-resident patients are entitled to protection under New Hampshire law, but they may not legally purchase cannabis in the state’s alternative treatment centers.