WeedLex

New Jersey Marijuana Laws

New Jersey Marijuana Laws

Cannabis is legal in New Jersey only for medicinal purposes.

Persons with no ID card may not possess marijuana. For possessing up to 50 grams, they may face a sentence of 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine. Carrying more than 50 grams is punishable by imprisonment of up to 18 months and a $25,000 fine. Possession within 1,000 feet of a school zone adds 100 hours of community service to the sentence and increases the fine.

Sale or possession with intent to distribute of 1 oz or less of marijuana is a crime that entails a maximum sentence of 18 months in jail and a fine of up to $25,000. Selling larger amount carries harsher penalties, up to a 20-year imprisonment and a $300,000 fine. Furthermore, selling cannabis to minors or pregnant women doubles the fine and the term of imprisonment.

The growing of between 1 oz and 5 pounds (less than ten plants) is punishable by a $25,000 fine and incarceration for 3-5 years.

Public smoking is prohibited.

A person serving a mandatory minimum sentence for a federal offense has no chance of parole.

New Jersey Medical Marijuana Laws

Patient possession limit is 2 oz per month. Possession of larger amounts of marijuana is punishable by the same penalties imposed for illegal possession, depending on the amount possessed. A patient must obtain a written recommendation from a physician, as well as a registry ID card.

Personal cultivation is prohibited for patients but allowed for their caregivers.

New Jersey to Allow 43 New Conditions to Be Treated With Cannabis
The Medicinal Marijuana Review Panel of New Jersey has recently proposed that the state’s health department should add 43 conditions to the list of ailments that allow patients to receive medical marijuana cards.
Aug 8, 2017 12:25 PM