WeedLex

North Carolina Marijuana Laws

North Carolina Marijuana Laws

Marijuana is illegal both for medical and recreational purposes in North Carolina. Non-psychoactive marijuana has been legalized, but special seeds of low-THC strains (industrial hemp) must be purchased from the state.

Carrying 0.5 oz or less of marijuana entails a maximum fine of $200. Possession of 0.5-1.5 oz is punishable by a discretionary fine and a sentence of up to 45 days in jail. Furthermore, cannabis possession in a penal institution is a felony, the penalties for which include incarceration for 4-8 months.

For selling less than 10 pounds, the offender may face a discretionary fine and be sent to jail for 4-8 months. The sale of 10-50 pounds may result in a minimum fine of $5,000 and 30-month prison term.

Cultivation of up to 10 pounds is a felony punishable by a discretionary fine and incarceration for 3-8 months in jail. Growing 10-50 pounds of the marijuana plants is punishable by a maximum 30-month imprisonment and a $5,000 fine.

Smoking marijuana in public is prohibited.

North Carolina Medical Marijuana Laws

The state’s law allows the use of marijuana extracts containing 5 percent or more CBD and less than 0.9 percent THC for treating patients with intractable epilepsy.

North Carolina Is Ready to Grow Hemp
Many U.S. states are warming up to the decision of cultivating the nonintoxicating cousin of marijuana. North Carolina has decided to conduct a statewide test and is now encouraging farmers to grow hemp. This year, a field where corn once grew could produce a new crop.
Mar 29, 2017 12:30 PM
North Carolina to Legalize Industrial Hemp Research
If the proposal of hemp cultivation for scientific purposes is authorized in the near future, researchers in North Carolina will get the opportunity to study the marketing potential of industrial hemp.
Jun 24, 2016 9:30 AM