North Dakota is one of the very few states in the country where marijuana remains illegal for all purposes.
Penalties for possession of up to 1 oz include a maximum fine of $1,500 and a maximum term of 30 days in prison. Possession of 1 oz-500 g of cannabis is punishable by a maximum fine of $10,000 and up to 5 years in jail. For possessing more than 500 g of cannabis, a person may be charged with a $20,000 fine and be imprisoned for up to 10 years. Furthermore, possession of any amount of marijuana within 1,000 feet of a school zone may result in a sentence of 10 years in jail and a $20,000 fine.
The sale of any amount is punishable by a maximum fine of $20,000 and imprisonment for 10 years.
Growing marijuana is also a crime, penalties for which are based upon the aggregate weight of the plants found.
Smoking the substance in public is illegal.
Currently, North Dakota has no medical marijuana program. The North Dakota Compassionate Care Act, if approved by voters in Nov. 2016, would allow some patients to use marijuana conditional on their doctor's approval.