WeedLex

Wisconsin Marijuana Laws

Wisconsin Marijuana Laws

Under the state law, marijuana remains an illegal substance. Neither medical nor recreational use is prohibited.

In the case of the first offense, possession of any amount of marijuana is punishable by a maximum fine of $1,000 and a 6-month imprisonment. A second conviction may result in a $10,000 fine and a sentence of up to 3.5 years. Furthermore, carrying the drug within 1,000 feet of a school zone, certain public places, and jail or drug treatment facilities increases the penalties.

A person who sells up to 200 grams or grows less than 4 plants may be charged with a $10,000 fine and a 3.5-year incarceration. Selling 200-1,000 grams or cultivating 5-12 plants is punishable by a $10,000 fine and a 6-year imprisonment. Selling or growing larger amounts of the substance entails harsher penalties.

For driving under the influence, a first-time offender may face a $150-$300 fine. A second conviction increases the fine up to $1,100 and also includes jail time of no more than 6 months, as well as a maximum 18 months of license suspension.

Public consumption of marijuana is also illegal.

Wisconsin Medical Marijuana Laws

Wisconsin has passed a medical CBD law. According to the law, patients with severe, debilitating epileptic conditions are allowed to use cannabis extracts that are low in THC and high in CBD.

CBD Oil Initiative Passes in Wisconsin Senate
A new bill passed by the Senate aims to legally allow people with seizures to possess and use CBD oil with written consent from their doctor.
Feb 17, 2017 12:25 PM
Which U.S. States Still Prohibit Marijuana?
While the United States has been significantly involved in the marijuana reform, there are some states that still prohibit all forms of cannabis use. Are advocates doing anything to push marijuana proposals? And when will these states join the national marijuana movement?
Jun 26, 2016 9:25 AM