In Arizona, marijuana is legal for medical use only.
According to the Arizona Medical Marijuana Act, qualifying patients and designated caregivers are allowed to possess up to 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana and cultivate no more than twelve marijuana plants in “enclosed, locked facilities” if their residences are further than 25 miles from the nearest state-licensed dispensary. The Act also allows them to purchase medical marijuana from tightly regulated clinics as they would any other medicine.
Possession of up to two pounds of cannabis is punishable by a 4 month-2 years sentence and a fine of $1,000. Possession of larger amounts of the substance is punished with harsher penalties.
Sale and possession with the intent of sale is a felony punishable by up to 12.5 years of imprisonment and a minimum fine of $1,000, depending on the amounts of cannabis and other conditions.
Patient possession limits include 2.5 oz of usable marijuana.
Home cultivation of cannabis plants is allowed only if a patient who grows marijuana lives further than 25 miles from the nearest dispensary. It is legal to cultivate up to 12 marijuana plants in an enclosed, locked facility.
In order use (but not purchase) marijuana in Arizona, non-residents must prove the medical necessity to use the substance and obtain a medical marijuana registration card or an equivalent (out-of-state registration card).