Colorado allows marijuana use for both recreational and medicinal purposes.
Adults 21 years or older may legally possess up to 1 oz of usable marijuana or THC. They need neither to be a Colorado resident nor to apply for ID cards—it is enough to prove their age with a government-issued ID. However, non-residents may purchase no more than 7 grams of the drug per transaction.
Possession of more than 1 oz but less than 2 oz of marijuana is an offense punishable by a fine of up to $100. For possessing between 2 and 6 oz, a person must pay a maximum $700 fine and spend up to 1 year in prison. Possession of larger amounts of the substance is punished with harsher penalties.
A person is allowed to privately grow up to 6 marijuana plants, with no more than 3 being mature. A person who grows 6-30 plants must pay a fine of up to $100,000 and be sent to jail for up to 2 years. For cultivating more than 30 plants, a grower may be punished by a fine of up to $500,000 and a maximum sentence of 6 years of imprisonment.
Public consumption is illegal.
Transfer of no more than 1 oz for free is not a felony, but the sale of any amount of cannabis entails criminal penalties.
Transportation of marijuana or marijuana products across the state borders is also illegal.
Registered medical marijuana patients and their primary caregivers who have been identified on the patients' Medical Marijuana Registry ID card may possess up to 2 oz of usable marijuana and cultivate no more than 6 plants, with 3 or fewer being mature, that are producing a usable form of cannabis.