Currently, cannabis is illegal in Florida.
The possession for personal use, manufacturing, sale, and distribution of marijuana is a crime here. Possession of up to 20 grams of cannabis is punishable by a maximum 1 year's imprisonment. A person accused of purchasing or possessing more than 20 grams may be sent to jail for up to 5 years and pay a $5,000 fine. Possession of larger amounts of the substance is punished with harsher penalties.
Delivering of up to 20 grams is a misdemeanor punishable by a 1-year prison term and a $1,000 fine.
The sale of up to 25 pounds of marijuana is a felony. A person that violates the law may be punished by a maximum sentence of 5 years in jail and a fine of $1,000. For selling between 25 and 2,000 pounds of cannabis, a person may be charged with 3 years of imprisonment and a fine of up to $25,000. Furthermore, delivery or sale within 1,000 feet of a school or any public place is a felony punishable by a 15-year sentence and a $10,000 fine.
Cultivation and public consumption are illegal.
Currently, Florida has no medical marijuana program.