In Idaho, marijuana is prohibited for both personal and medical use.
An individual charged with possession of up to 3 oz of marijuana faces 1 year in prison and a maximum fine of $1,000. For possessing cannabis in amounts between 3 oz and 1 pound, a person may be charged with felony and face a $10,000 fine and 5 years in jail. Possession with intent to distribute up to 1 pound (or up to 24 plants) is a felony punishable by 5 years of imprisonment and a $15,000 fine. Possession of larger amounts of the substance is punished with harsher penalties.
A person who grows up to 1 pound (or 24 plants) of marijuana may face a 1-year prison term and a maximum $15,000 fine. The second or subsequent offense is subject to twice the fine and term of imprisonment. Furthermore, presence in the place where marijuana is cultivated or stored for sale or use is punishable by up to 90 days of imprisonment and a fine of $300.
Publicly consuming marijuana or being under the influence is a misdemeanor that may end with a 6-month prison term and a $1,000 fine.
At the moment, Idaho has no medical marijuana program.