Illinois legalized marijuana only for medicinal purposes.
Non-patients who possess up to 2.5 grams of cannabis may be punished by 30 days of imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1,500. Possession of 2.5-10 grams of marijuana may entail a 6-month prison term and a $1,500 fine.
Selling or possessing with intent to sell no more than 2.5 grams is a Class B misdemeanor that entails a $1,500 fine and imprisonment for six months. If the amount of cannabis exceeds 2.5 grams but is not more than 10 grams, a person that violated the law may be charged with a sentence of up to 1 year in jail and a $2,500 fine.
Cultivating up to five plants is a misdemeanor punishable by one year in prison and a $2,500 fine. A person growing between 5 and 20 plants may be charged with a fine of up to $25,000 and a maximum prison term of six years.
The state allows the use of medical marijuana for eligible patients as part of the state's four-year pilot program.
Qualifying patients 21 years or older and registered primary caregivers may legally possess up to 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana per 14-day period.
Home cultivation is not permitted.
Smoking cannabis in any public place where an individual could reasonably be expected to be observed by others, in a health care facility, or any other place where smoking is prohibited under the Smoke Free Illinois Act is a crime.