In Louisiana, marijuana is legal for medicinal use only, under limited circumstances.
As for non-patients, it is a crime to knowingly and intentionally possess any amount of marijuana. Possession of up to 14 grams is punishable by a fine of no more than $300 and a 15-day imprisonment. Possession of more than 14 grams but less than 2.5 pounds is the reason to punish the person at most by a $500 fine and a 6-month imprisonment. All second convictions regarding less than 2.5 pounds of marijuana are punishable by a $1,000 fine and 6 months of imprisonment.
Selling or growing of up to 60 pounds of marijuana is a crime that entails a maximum $50,000 fine and 5-30 years of imprisonment. Distributing larger amounts of the substance leads to harsher penalties.
Smokable medical cannabis is not allowed in Louisiana, but cannabis products may be administered and ingested.
Patient possession limits include a 30-day supply of non-smokable preparations of cannabis.
Neither home cultivation nor public consumption of cannabis plants is allowed.