Maine legalized marijuana for medical purposes only.
Possessing cannabis for recreational purposes is illegal and punished with harsh penalties. Possession of up to 1.25 oz is a civil violation that entails a $600 fine. For possessing no more than 2.5 oz, a person may be charged with a fine of $1,000. A subsequent offense implies harsher penalties.
The sale of up to 1 pound of cannabis is a crime punishable by a maximum sentence of 1 year and a $2,000 fine. The sale of marijuana in the amount of between 1 and 20 pounds may be a reason for imprisoning the person for 5 years and fine them $5,000.
Cultivation of up to 5 plants is punishable by 6 months in prison and a fine of up to $1,000. For growing 5-99 plants, you may be charged with a $2,000 fine and up to one year in prison. For any cannabis sale or cultivation offense, the penalties increase if aggravating factors are present. Additionally, if the offender uses a vehicle to facilitate the aggravated cannabis offense, the judge may order the offender's driver's license suspended for up to 5 years.
Maine law allows registered patients and their primary caregivers to have 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana and up to 6 plants, of which three can be flowering at one time.
Patients may consume marijuana in private residences only. Using medical marijuana without a valid prescription is punishable by the same penalties as imposed for illegal marijuana use and possession.