Marijuana is legal only in the form of medicine in Minnesota.
The penalty for the first offense of possessing up to 42.5 grams of marijuana is a $200 fine and mandatory drug education. Having up to 10 kilograms of the substance could land a person in jail for 5 years and fine them $10,000.
Selling of up to 42.5 grams without remuneration is punishable by a fine of $200. Distribution of up to 5 kilograms is a felony entailing a $10,000 fine and a sentence of 5 years in prison. Distribution within a school or park zone may end with a maximum fine of $100,000 and 15 years in jail.
Cultivation is punished based upon the aggregate weight of the cannabis plants found.
Patients may legally possess a 30-day supply of non-smokable cannabis preparations. Raw leaf, flowers and cannabis-infused edibles are prohibited under current Minnesota law. Home cultivation is also not allowed.