Under the Nebraska law, marijuana is considered decriminalized but still illegal for any purpose.
A first offense possession of up to 1 oz of cannabis is a civil infraction punishable by a $300 fine and a possible drug education course with no jail time. Second offense possession carries a $400 fine and no more than 5 days in prison. A subsequent offense is punishable by up to 1 week in jail and a fine of $500. Possession of larger amounts of the drug entails harsher penalties.
The sale of any amount of marijuana is a crime, penalties for which include a maximum $25,000 fine, a 1-year mandatory minimum sentence, and up to 20 years of imprisonment. Selling the drug to a minor within 1,000 feet of a school zone is punishable by imprisonment for up to 50 years and a 1-year mandatory sentence.
Cultivation is illegal in Nebraska and entails penalties based upon the aggregate weight of the plants grown.
Public consumption is prohibited.