New Mexico Marijuana Laws

New Mexico Marijuana Laws

New Mexico is one of the states that have legalized marijuana for medical use. The use of marijuana for recreational purposes remains illegal.

Possession of up to 1 oz for non-medicinal purposes is a misdemeanor punishable by a $50-$100 fine and imprisonment for 15 days for the first offense and a $100-$1000 fine and incarceration for 1 year for second or subsequent offense. Carrying 1-8 oz of cannabis may lead to a $1,000 fine and imprisonment for 1 year. Possession of more than 8 oz of marijuana is punishable by a $5,000 fine and imprisonment for 1.5 years.

Selling marijuana is punishable by the same penalties as possessing with intent to distribute. For the sale of up to 100 pounds, the offender may face a maximum fine of $5,000 and be imprisoned for 3 years.

Cultivation of any amount of the plants is a felony that entails 9 years of imprisonment and a $10,000 fine for the first offense. The second offense doubles the prison term and increases the fine to $15,000.

Using marijuana in public is illegal.

New Mexico Medical Marijuana Laws

It is legal to possess up to 6 oz of medical cannabis and cultivate 16 plants (4 mature, 12 immature). Qualified patients and their registered primary caregivers cannot be subjects to arrest, prosecution, or penalty in any matter for the possession or medical use of cannabis if the quantity does not exceed an adequate supply.

New Mexico Senate Approves New Conditions for Using Medical Cannabis
New Mexico still has one of the nation's strictest policies concerning the use of cannabis for recreational purposes. However, the state’s authorities have been making steps forward in developing an extended New Mexico medical marijuana program.
Feb 22, 2017 12:20 PM
Will New Mexico Expand Its Cannabis Program?
A new bill, aimed to expand cannabis rights in New Mexico, has recently appeared in the state’s Senate. According to the new measure, both patients and growers will have increased access to marijuana.
Jan 23, 2017 12:20 PM