In Oklahoma, possession of any amount of marijuana is a crime that entails a 1-year imprisonment and a $1,000 fine. In the case of a subsequent offense, the offender may be fined $5,000 and spend up to five years in prison.
The sale of up to 25 pounds is punishable by a sentence that may last from 2 years to a lifetime and by a fine of $20,000. Selling a larger amount of the substance is punishable by harsher penalties.
Growing less than 1,000 plants may result in a maximum fine of $25,000 and a 20 years to life imprisonment.
Public consumption is also illegal.
Any cannabis-related conviction leads to a driver’s license suspension for a period of time from 6 months to 3 years.
Oklahoma provides limited protection for seriously ill patients who could benefit from access to high-CBD marijuana. The oil may contain no more than 0.3 percent of THC. Patients must obtain a written recommendation from a state-licensed physician.