In South Carolina, marijuana use is illegal for any purpose.
Possession of up to 1 oz of marijuana may lead to a $100-$200 fine and 30 days of imprisonment. A subsequent conviction entails a maximum sentence of 1 year and a $2,000 fine. However, first-time possession offenders may complete 1 year of probation instead of following the conventional criminal procedure.
Selling up to 10 pounds is a felony punishable by a 5-year sentence and a $5,000 fine. Distributing 10-100 pounds may end with a mandatory maximum sentence of 10 years and a fine of $10,000.
Penalties for the cultivation of up to 100 plants include a 5-year sentence and a $5,000 fine. Growing 100-1,000 plants is punishable by 25 years of imprisonment and a fine of up to $25,000.
Public consumption of cannabis is illegal.
Currently, South Carolina has no medical marijuana program. However, the state's law allows the use of cannabis extracts containing less than 0.9 percent THC and more than 15 percent CBD for treating patients with Refractory epilepsy, Dravet Syndrome, or Lennox-Gastaut Syndrome.