The state prohibits marijuana in any form.
Possession of up to 2 oz is punishable by a fine of $2,000 and a 1-year imprisonment. A conviction of possessing between 2 oz and 0.5 pounds may result in a maximum sentence of 2 years and a $4,000 fine. Carrying a larger amount of the substance entails harsher penalties.
Penalties for selling up to 0.5 oz include 1 year of imprisonment and a $2,000 fine. The conviction for the sale of up to 1 oz doubles the fine and entails a 2-year prison term. Furthermore, the sale within 1,000 feet of a school zone or within 500 feet of other designated areas is punishable by a minimum sentence of 5 years and a $10,000 fine.
Cultivation in South Dakota is also a crime, penalties for which are based upon the aggregate weight of the plants found.
Being in a room where cannabis is used or stored is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $2,000 and a 1-year imprisonment.
Public smoking or consumption of cannabis in any other way are prohibited.
As for now, South Dakota has no medical marijuana program. The use of cannabis extracts rich with CBD is also prohibited.