Currently, both the recreational and medical use of marijuana remain illegal in Texas.
Penalties for the possession of up to 2 oz include an 180-day imprisonment and a fine of $2,000. Possession of 2-4 oz of the substance is punishable by incarceration for 1 year in jail and a fine of up to $4,000. Carrying larger amounts of marijuana entails harsher penalties.
Selling or delivering up to 7 grams of cannabis may result in a 1-year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $4,000. The sale of between 7 grams and 5 pounds of marijuana is a felony that entails a $10,000 fine and a sentence of 2 years in prison. Furthermore, the sale within a drug-free school zone increases the penalties.
Cultivation of marijuana plants is also a crime in Texas, penalties for which are based upon the aggregate weight of the plants found.
A person’s driver’s license is suspended on final conviction of an offense under the Controlled Substance Act or a drug offense. Penalties for driving under the influence include a fine of up to $2,000 and between 72 hours and 6 months in jail, as well as 24-100 hours of community service and up to 1 year of license suspension.
As for now, Texas has no medical marijuana program. In 2015, Texas adopted the Compassionate Use Act, intended to allow qualifying patients to use cannabis extracts containing 0.5 percent or less THC and 10 percent or more CBD. The program is currently being implemented.