Marijuana is a prohibited substance in Utah, both for recreational and medicinal purposes.
Under the current Utah law, possession of up to 1 oz is a misdemeanor punishable by a $1,000 fine and imprisonment for 6 months. A person carrying between 1 oz and 1 pound may face a $2,500 fine and be imprisoned for 1 year. Possession of larger amounts of marijuana entails harsher penalties.
The sale of any amount of the substance may result in a maximum $5,000 fine and a 5-year incarceration. Furthermore, selling weed within 1,000 feet of a drug-free school zone is the reason for increased penalties.
Cultivation is also prohibited in Utah. Penalties for growing cannabis are based upon the weight of the plants found.
In the case of the first conviction for driving under the influence, penalties include a minimum fine of $700, incarceration for 48 hours in prison, and 48 hours of community service (or house arrest).
However, Utah allows for a very specific use of CBD extract-only cannabis by adults with intractable epilepsy. In order to use and possess limited amounts of marijuana, patients with epilepsy must obtain registration cards. The law permits only low-THC marijuana extracts from industrial hemp with up to 0.3 percent of THC and not less than 15 percent of CBD.