Vermont legalized marijuana for medicinal purposes only. The recreational use of the drug remains illegal.
Non-patients who possess up to 1 oz may face a $200 fine with no criminal record, $300 and $500 for the second and subsequent offense accordingly. A person carrying 1-2 oz may be charged with a maximum sentence of 6 months and a $500 fine. A second conviction entails a 2-year sentence and a fine of up to $2,000. Possession of between 2 oz and 1 pound is punishable by a 3-year sentence and a $10,000 fine.
Penalties for the sale of 0.5 oz or less of marijuana include a $10,000 fine, a sentence of up to 2 years in jail, or both. Selling up to 1 pound may result in a 5-year sentence and a fine of no more than $100,000. Selling larger amounts of marijuana is punishable by harsher penalties.
Growing is a crime in Vermont. Penalties for the cultivation of only 1-2 plants include a sentence of up to 6 months in jail and a $500 fine for the first offense. A second (and subsequent) offense increases incarceration to a 2-year sentence and entails a $2,000 fine. For growing 3-10 plants, a person may be charged with a $10,000 fine and be imprisoned for 3 years. Cultivation of 11–25 plants is a felony, penalties for which include a 5-year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $100,000.
Residents of the state 18 years or older with certain qualifying medical conditions and their primary caregivers are allowed to possess up to 2 oz of usable marijuana. They may also have pipes and vaporizers.
Patients can grow no more than 9 marijuana plants (2 mature, 7 immature) in secure indoor facilities with locks.
It is prohibited to use the medicine in public, while driving, in a workplace, or in a manner that endangers the health or well-being of other people.