Under the state law, cannabis is an illegal substance, both for medicinal and recreational purposes.
Possession of up to 0.5 oz is a misdemeanor punishable by a $500 fine and a 30-day imprisonment. Instead of being sent to jail, first-time offenders may be placed on probation that requires 24 hours of community service. A subsequent offense increases the prison term up to 12 months and the fine to $2,500.
Selling between 0.5 o and 5 pounds of the drug may result in a maximum sentence of 10 years. The sale of up to 100 kilograms is punishable by a 30-year imprisonment. Furthermore, distributing more than 0.5 oz within 1,000 feet of a school zone is a felony, penalties for which include a maximum sentence of 5 years and a fine of up to $100,000. However, if the offender proves that they sold the substance only as an accommodation to another person and not with intent to profit, they may be punished by a maximum sentence of 1 year and a $2,500 fine.
Cultivation is illegal in Virginia. Penalties for growing any amount of the plants include incarceration of 5-30 years and a $10,000 fine.
Transporting more than 5 pounds into the state with intent to distribute is punishable by a sentence of between 5 and 40 years and a fine of up to $1,000,000.
Obviously, public consumption of marijuana is also a crime in Virginia.
Although Virginia has no medical marijuana program, patients with intractable epilepsy are allowed to use cannabis extracts that contain 15 percent or more CBD and 5 percent or less THC. It is noteworthy that the possession of such products remains illegal, although it is eligible for an affirmative defense from criminal prosecution.