In West Virginia, possession, sale, and manufacture of marijuana are prohibited.
Penalties for possession of any amount of marijuana include a 6-month imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1,000. For a first cannabis-related possession charge, however, a person, carrying up to 15 gram of marijuana, may be discharged if they successfully complete at least 6 months of probation.
Cultivation of any number of marijuana plants for personal use and with intent to distribute is punished based upon the weight of the substance found. Penalties include a $15,000 fine and a sentence of 1-5 years in jail. Selling within 1,000 feet of a school zone increases the penalties. Furthermore, a second or subsequent conviction doubles the penalties.
Public consumption of marijuana is illegal and punishable by harsh penalties.
Driving under the influence is punishable by a fine of between $100 and $5,000 and a 6-month incarceration, as well as a maximum 6-month license suspension. A second conviction increases the prison term up to 1 year and license suspension up to a lifetime.
Currently, West Virginia has no medical marijuana program.